Blog Entry 8: Research Project

I have been working on my second research project for roughly two weeks now, and I must say it is going fairly well. While I certainly feel more comfortable writing papers, I was detered from the daunting 12 page essay, having already written a 10 page one and not feeling up to repeating the same topic. Instead, I have decided to use a different type of medium to create my next project; a WordPress blog.

Having already become familiar with the WordPress website through means of writing these blog entries, I created a blog showcasing the American culture’s stance on food related taboos. The website will feature animals America refrains from eating, as well as food related activities that Americans engage in that are considered taboo by other cultures. I have incorporated pictures, facts, and links to outlying sites, in order to make the blog both informative and engaging.

One thing I wish I might have known when writing my first entry is an idea introduced to me by a fellow peer, which is an experiment of sorts. As I work in a Deli, I am conducting an experiment on food taboos where I sample out pieces of Lebanon Bologna, which in reality is an entirely beef based bologna, but instead I tell the customers that the bologna contains horse meat, and then gauge their reactions. I am very excited to see the results of this experiment, and to post it on this new blog!

Leave a comment